The facts are sourced from an S-4 registration statement filed with the SEC via EDGAR, published on April 18, 2023, consistent with the all-stock structure, since an S-4 registers the shares to be issued in the merger. The deal's current status is pending regulatory review.
Only one financial advisor is identified in the facts block: Kroll, LLC, operating through its Duff & Phelps Opinions Practice (referred to as Duff & Phelps), which served as the lead, independent financial advisor to Hut 8's board of directors. The source sentence states: "Hut 8 Mining Corp. (the 'Company' or 'Hut 8') has engaged Kroll, LLC ('Duff & Phelps'), operating through its Duff & Phelps Opinions Practice, to serve as an independent financial advisor to the Board of Directors (the 'Board of Directors') of the Company... to provide an opinion... as to the fairness, from a financial point of view, to the Company of the USBTC Exchange Ratio." This confirms Kroll/Duff & Phelps rendered a fairness opinion specifically on the exchange ratio for the USBTC side of the merger. No financial advisor to U.S. Data Mining Group is identified in the facts provided.
No legal advisors were extracted for this transaction in the available facts block.
Beyond the classification of this transaction as an all-stock merger of equals, the facts confirm that a fairness opinion was rendered on the "USBTC Exchange Ratio," indicating an exchange ratio mechanism was used, though the specific ratio itself is not included in the facts provided.
Several items are not disclosed in this record: the transaction value is not stated, the specific exchange ratio is not given, no financial advisor to U.S. Data Mining Group is identified, no legal advisors to either side are identified, and no expected closing date is given beyond the pending-regulatory status.
